Concealed Carry

The Concealed Carry Handgun Permit or Concealed Weapons Permit courses are designed for a law abiding citizen, who wish or need to carry a concealed handgun for their personal or family’s safety. In this course, you will gain the required knowledge of handgun safety, along with learning about responsible carry and how to gain the needed proficiency skills with a firearm. Also there will be instructions on the laws and the obligations of the concealed handgun carrier. Upon completion of this course you may apply to the State of North Carolina or South Carolina for a Concealed Carry Handgun Permit or SC CWP at your county Sheriff’s office.

You must be 21 years of age to enroll in this course. This is an advanced class, not for new shooters!

This Permit class will be a minimum of eight hours as required by the State


  1. Information on the statutory and case law of NC relating to handguns and to the use of lethal and deadly force.
  2. Information on handgun use and safety.
  3. Proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
  4. The actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor along with safe handling of the firearm including loading, unloading and accurate shot placement.
  5. Legal provisions of prohibited carry locations as a  permit holder.
  6. Guidance on the proper selection of a concealed handgun and carry options.
  7. Instruction on where and how to apply and the related documents for a permit.

Included in the cost of the course are targets, state documents, and other course materials required when applying for permit.

You need to bring:

  • A handgun (No Single Action Cowboy Revolvers) matching holster and belt.
  • You will need at least 100 rounds of round nosed(Target Grade) ammunition.
  • Hearing and eye protection.
  • A valid and correct  Drivers License or  State ID card must be presented during class.

All Concealed Carry Permit courses are 8 plus -hours with a class fee of $85.00.